Gluten Free Diet…And Other MS Cures.

Gluten is a protein found in some grains such as wheat, barley, and rye. There is some controversy pertaining to whether oats should also be added to this group because of possible cross-contamination occurring at some milling facilities. Gluten is also a food additive that is found in many foods; for example, ice cream and ketchup.

Why would we want to eliminate Gluten from our diets?  Answers vary.  There is thought to be a connection between food sensitivities (not necessarily allergy); more specifically, the way our bodies react to this type of sensitivity, and MS symptoms.

When we have an adverse reaction to a food; it is often the protein in that food that is the culprit (gluten for instance).  Our immune system responds to this as if it is a harmful invader.  The immune system then triggers a reaction.  Reactions can vary from person to person.

While I am skeptical at best of any type of diet “curing” MS, (at present; an incurable disease), I do believe that better nutrition can afford those of us suffering with MS a better quality of life through moderate control of some of our symptoms.

There are some issues with a gluten free diet.  It is possible to become deficient in other nutrients (fiber, thiamine, riboflavin, niacin, folate, iron, or calcium for example).  It is important to look at the big picture when exploring radical changes in our diet.  Balance is extremely important for the human body.

One thing I always try to stress is to remember we are not trying to cure our disease.  We are looking for ways to make our quality of life better.  Leave the cures to the medical professionals.  If a change in our diet improves our symptoms, we’ve found supporting therapy.  We should always remember to discuss these with our doctor because some diet changes or herbal therapies can directly interact or interfere with certain medications.

I suggest; if planning to try a diet or herbal remedy, to always log findings in a notebook.  This log should contain every detail:

  • What changes were made (diet, introduction of an herbal remedy)
  • Amount of change or what the change was (diet changes noted/dosage of herbal remedy)
  • note the date and the time of day
  • effects of change

Keeping track of our efforts will help us find what works best for us and what doesn’t.  It will also help track down any causes, if we have adverse reactions.

About Kotori_kim

"i owned the world that hour as i rode over it. Free of the earth, free of the mountains, free of the clouds, but how inseparably i was bound to them." ~Charles Lindbergh
This entry was posted in alternative therapy, chronic disease, Diet, Disease, Health, ms, multiple sclerosis, RRMS, Therapy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Gluten Free Diet…And Other MS Cures.

  1. pbus1 says:

    Thanks! I’ll be sharing this info with my friend!

  2. cruz2lose says:

    I am gluten intolerant and although my gluten issues have not been deemed a true allergy, I actually get incredibly ill when I consume most anything with gluten in it. I find it very interesting that on the days that I have broken down and consumed foods with gluten that I end up having more than just GI issues…I also end up suffering terribly with arthritis as well. I think there is a lot to be said for the possiblility that while perhaps a gluten-free diet may or may not cure MS, perhaps it may ease symptoms.

  3. chgogal says:

    Thanks for the info Kim. I wonder if I could ever get Bill to try a gluten free diet? Are you currently trying this, and if so have you noticed that it is helping?

    • foxfires71 says:

      I am not strictly gluten free. I agree with Cruz that there is a lot to be said for the possibility of a gluten free diet easing symptoms and I am slowly evolving my diet to include several changes that are thought to positively impact MS symptoms. Right now I am researching as much as I can on how diet impacts MS and will share whatever insight I come across here. I appreciate any comments on experiences you may have. I am also considering including a page here that offers recipes for the various “MS” diets so that people can see what works best for them.

  4. msdalj says:

    Completely agree with your post! I haven’t been gluten-free for that long (three months consistently), but I’ve found that my MS symptoms have improved quite a bit. That being said, it’s probably due to a combination of things that have resulted in the alleviation of most of my MS symptoms… thanks for the article!

  5. The Hobbler says:

    Sounds interesting. I have thought about changing my diet in hopes of improving my symptoms, but it is hard to stay with it. I went for about a month one time only drinking water (not flavored and I still ate whatever I wanted). Honestly, I think it did help, but the fatigue is so bad typically that I just reach for some caffinated drink.

  6. I have adapted to a completely grain free diet and know that I am getting, fiber, thiamine, folates, etc from the vegetables, nuts and meats I do eat. Have you ever been to the site Mark’s Daily Apple? A modern cave man diet provides all the nutrients I need and also leaves room for all the beneficial foods rather than filling me up on inflammatory grains. Will it “cure” my MS? Probably not, but it might ward off relapses and that’s important to me.

Leave a comment